Track 4. Gamification and Games for Learning (GAMILEARN)


This track is open to contributions from researchers, practitioners and industry in the application of gamification or games in learning environments.

Gameful and playful experiences have been positively shown as a technique to motivate students and enhance their learning process. This topic has gained great interest in both academia and industry, as reflected by the amount of academic publications in the recent years, especially those showing case studies, hands-on experiences, or startups specialized in gamification and games for educational purposes.

This track on Gamification and Games for Learning (GamiLearn’21) aims to cover all aspects of gameful and playful approaches for learning, including user studies, design frameworks, techniques and strategies, methodologies, tools and applications, ecosystems, analysis and assessment, personalization approaches, systems integrations, data management, architectures, innovations to market, as well as any work in progress. Our main goal is to bring together stakeholders for exchanging ideas and experiences and encouraging networking between academia and industry.



We welcome submissions from all topics diverse aspects of gameful and playful approaches for learning, including but not limited to the following:

  • User studies
  • Design frameworks
  • Techniques and strategies
  • Methodologies
  • Tools and applications
  • Technological ecosystems
  • Processes of analysis
  • Processes of assessments
  • Personalization approaches
  • Systems integrations
  • Data management
  • Interaction

Track Instructions and Program (Wednesday 27th, F2F-Hybrid, 15.30-17.00 // 17.30 – 19.00, location Class 3.4, floor 3)

Before the track session: All papers will submit the presentation of the work in video. The videos will be published our YouTube channel and be available well before the conference begins (one week before): GAMILEARN CHANNEL

Instructions for the video:

– Deadline for submitting the video: October 15, 2021

– Format: landscape video with 16:9 aspect ratio. MP4 or AVI.

– Resolution: Minimum recommended of 1280 x 720.

– Duration: Maximum of 10 minutes, explaining the main ideas of your paper.

– Language: English.

– Recommendation: Please, include the title and authors at the beginning of the video.

The idea is a standard (shorter) conference presentation.

Submission: Upload the video to your preferred platform (Dropbox, OneDrive, WeTransfer, Google Drive, etc.) and get the download link. Authors sholud have received an e-mail from Easychair includiong the URL of a form when you can informs track chairs about your donwload link. You must be sure that we have access to download the video. It is very important that we follow the deadline. Any video that is not uploaded within the deadline will be considered a “no show” at the conference. You have almost three weeks from now to prepare the video.

We will provide further instructions once we have all videos available in our channel. However, the main idea will be:

** Once the videos are available, but before the conference: Authors may comment on the videos and pose questions to the authors.

** During the track session:

– At least one author per paper has to participate in the track session (online or in-person). The presenter need not be the corresponding author.

– Each presenter will have 5-10 minutes for introducing herself/himself, very quickly summarize his/her contribution, and address the most relevant questions raised before the conference in the video comments.

– Interventions can be backed with a SINGLE static slide (or none at all), as a simple reminder of the paper title/topic to watchers. This presentation will NOT be led by slides (that would be the initial video).

– Further discussion may be led by the chairs.

The order of the PROGRAM and PRESENTATIONS will be:

Track Scientific Committee

Joan Arnedo Moreno (Open University of Catalonia, Spain) – Chair
Carina Soledad González-González (University of La Laguna, Spain) – Chair
Francisco Álvarez (Universidad Autónoma de Aguascalientes, Mexico)
Lynn Alves (Universidade Federal da Bahia, Brazil)
Daniel Aranda (Universitat Oberta de Catalunya, Spain)
Kay Berkling (Duale Hochschule Baden-Württemberg Karlsruhe, Germany)
Oriol Borrás (Universidad Rey Juan Carlos, Spain)
Pierre Bourdin (Universitat Oberta de Catalunya, Spain)
Javier Bravo (Universidad de Distancia de Madrid, Spain)
Laura Calvet (Universitat Oberta de Catalunya, Spain)
Sandra Cano (Universidad San Buenaventura de Cali, Colombia)
Robert Clarisó (Universitat Oberta de Catalunya, Spain)
María Esther Del Moral (Universidad de Oviedo, Spain)
Flavio Escribano (GECON, Fundación Iberoamericana del Conocimiento, Spain)
María Rosa Fernández (Universidad de Extremadura, Spain)
Baltasar Fernández-Manjón (Universidad Complutense de Madrid, Spain)
Francisco Gallego (Universidad de Alicante, Spain)
Óscar García-Pañella (ENTI-UB, Spain)
Francisco José García-Peñalvo (Universidad de Salamanca, Spain)
Rosa Gil (Universitat de Lleida, Spain)
Francisco Gutiérrez (Universidad de Granada, Spain)
Claudia Gomes (Universidade Aberta Lisbon, Portugal)
Thorsten Händler (Vienna University of Economics and Business, Austria)
Eduardo Herranz (Universidad Carlos III de Madrid, Spain)
Bahar Kutun (Technische Hochschule Ingolstadt, Germany)
Elise Lavoue (Université Jean Moulin, France)
Beatriz Legeren (University of Vigo, Spain)
Faraón Llorens (Universidad de Alicante, Spain)
Nuria Medina (Universidad de Granada, Spain)
Enric Mor (Universitat Oberta de Catalunya, Spain)
Patricia Paderewski (Universidad de Granada, Spain)
Anna Puig (Universitat de Barcelona, Spain)
Francisco Revuelta (Universidad de Extremadura, Spain)
Daniel Riera (Universitat Oberta de Catalunya, Spain)
Inma Rodríguez (Universitat de Barcelona, Spain)
Veronica Rossano (University of Bari Aldo Moro, Italy)
Jorge Simoes (Instituto Superior Politécnico Gaya, Portugal)
Pablo Vicente Torres (Universidad Técnica Particular de la Loja, Ecuador)
Alicia Triviño (Universidad de Málaga, Spain)
Carlos Vaz de Carvalho (Instituto Politecnico do Porto, Portugal)
Lourdes Villalustre (Universidad de Oviedo, Spain)
Rina Wehbe (University of Waterloo, Canada)
Karina Arrambide (University of Waterloo, Canada)
Miguel Ángel Conde (Universidad de León, Spain)